Search This Blog

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

2017 ITA awards

From zootennis:


Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year: Melissa Schaub, Ohio State
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year: Courtney Nagle, North Carolina
ITA Most Improved Player (Senior): Blair Shankle, Baylor
ITA Senior Player of the Year: Hayley Carter, North Carolina
ITA Rookie of the Year: Ena Shibahara, UCLA
ITA Player to Watch: Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt
ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award: Monica Robinson, Notre Dame
ITA/Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship: Aslina Chua, Michigan State
ITA Community Service Award (tie): Tennessee & East Carolina

ITA fucked it up yet again. As I feared: Carter received it when Slattery was the more deserving winner.

I would've nominated Denver/Oregon/GT coaches instead as well.

Is MIP restricted to seniors? Why, because of Senioritis? How about Popovic and Failla. They've played 1/2 Singles this year.

Player to watch, why Sharma? She's already one of the best since her MVP season. Redundant as fuck. How about Talaba, Kylie Wilcox, Madison Harrison and Mariana Humberg.
Remember ITA named Austin as the Player to Watch last year? I was critical of the decision then. And look how that turned out.

They should also publish the candidates, like those film awards. Seems more interesting and fair, no.

No comments: